christian_realperson1

MU student Jessica Heim-Brouwer enjoys a quiet read in Peace Park on Monday, Feb. 27, 2017. She is an arts and culture journalism major through the magazine school and enjoys studying outdoors, weather permitting.

christian_realperson3

Andrew Right scribbles notes for his upcoming biology midterm outside Naka Hall on Monday, Feb. 27, 2017. Right plans to apply to medical school in the fall with a minor in biology.

christian_realperson2

Paul Vanhove, a construction worker for Emery Sapp and Sons, prepares to haul another load of gravel during an unseasonably warm winter afternoon on Monday, Feb. 27, 2017. “I don’t mind being outside on days like this,” Vanhove said.


Reflection

Finding subjects for this assignment wasn’t nearly as difficult as I built it up to be in my mind; out of the four people I approached, only one wasn’t interested in participating. I found it easier to talk to strangers than I thought and used common ground or an interesting anecdote to start a conversation.

Luckily, the day I shot was cloudless and thus the lighting was optimal with few camera adjustments needed. I adjusted the aperture for Paul Vanhove’s portrait as the background was fitting for the scene, but also a little busy; a shallow depth of field helped focus the photo on my intended subject.